Our role

We are the lead disaster management agency for NSW, responsible for all aspects of disaster recovery and building community resilience to future disasters. We oversee and coordinate emergency management policy and service delivery with a focus on social, economic, infrastructure and natural environment outcomes.

We keep people and communities at the heart of everything we do. By leading a whole of government approach to disaster recovery and resilience, we ensure people are cared for, acknowledged and empowered – so that all NSW communities are better prepared for and supported on their journey of recovery from any crisis or disaster event.

Resilience NSW Annual Report 2019-20

Focus areas

Our focus areas are:

  • Response and recovery
  • Disaster resilience
  • Capability and planning
  • Emergency Management policy and coordination
  • Natural Disaster funding and accountability
  • Disaster Welfare

Commissioner of Resilience NSW Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM

Commissioner Fitzsimmons was appointed Resilience NSW's inaugural Commissioner and Deputy Secretary Emergency Management in May of 2020. He chairs the State Emergency Management Committee, the State Recovery Committee and National Emergency Medal Committee.

The appointment to Resilience NSW follows a distinguished career with the NSW Rural Fire Service as well as council and director roles across state and national emergency management authorities.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons' career has been acknowledged with the NSW Rural Fire Service Long-Service Medal, recognising 30 years of service; the National Medal, recognising more than 35 years of service; and, the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM). He is also a Paul Harris Fellow and holds a Paul Harris Fellow Sapphire through the Rotary Clubs of Berowra and Sydney.

He is a Royal Humane Society of NSW Inc. Councillor and patron of two children's charities, Kids Xpress and Coffee 4 Kids.

In 2020, he was named Australian Father of the Year 2020 through The Shepherd Centre and NSW Australian of the Year.


State Emergency Management Committee

The State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC) is responsible for a range of programs and arrangements designed to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from the effects of hazards impacting on the community.

About the Committee

State Rescue Board of NSW

The State Rescue Board of NSW (SRB)’s principal function is to ensure the maintenance of efficient and effective rescue services throughout the state

About the Board

Emergency Management Regions

NSW is divided into 11 Emergency Management Regions. Each Region is made up of local government representatives.

Region map and contacts